WHAT THE–!?: Dog Edition

Deep in the semi-arctic tundra known as Russia, there lives a beast. It is a foul creature, as terrifying as it is large. It could swallow a double decker bus with its gaping maw, and it prays on the villagers of–

I’m kidding — it’s just a dog. An enormous dog, but still, it’s just a dog… despite appearances.

Oh my God.

Oh my God.

The breed name of this monstrous, furry beast is the Caucasian Shepherd, also known as the Caucasian Mountain Dog.
“But, Boone,” you say with a condescending tone. “That dog isn’t white. Why call it Caucasian?”
It’s named after the Caucasus Mountains in Georgia.
“But you said Russia and–”
There’s a Georgia in Asia, too; not just the United States.
“Oh.”

Holy shit.

Holy shit.

The dog was specifically bred to protect livestock, primarily sheep. It would literally walk with the sheep, blend in with the herd and then attack approaching wolves. Despite being dark in color, the dog can blend in with a sheep herd because of its bushy fur. Also, it’s about the same size as a full grown sheep.
It can grow to be up to 29 inches tall from shoulder to feet and can weigh up to 160 lbs. In other words, no matter who you are, odds are that it’s about as big as you are, if not bigger.

Jesus Christ.

Jesus Christ.

If you think this dog is cute and might make a good pet, you might want to wait a moment. The breed has a decent temperament and is great around children, but won’t respect/listen to them. In fact, the dog only responds to people whom it sees as being superior to it. Basically, it has a very “alpha dog” mentality and is not recommended for anyone who isn’t completely serious and experienced in handling dogs. However, should you actually train this dog, it’s apparently very loyal and protective… not to mention terrifying to intruders.

AAAAAHHHH!

AAAAAHHHH!

And because I know you’re curious, this is what they look like as a puppy.

Only 2 months old... WTF

Only 2 months old... WTF

70 Responses to WHAT THE–!?: Dog Edition

  1. Darby says:

    Are we sure this isn’t some sort of bear? Or some unholy combination of bear and primate? Is this where the stories of the abominable snowman comes from?

  2. rattitude says:

    Dude, depending on your movie knowledge here! : http://cliteratureblog.blogspot.com/2009/01/furtish.html

    It’s not OT, animal fur is involved ;)

  3. rony rowayheb says:

    i want to have one pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  4. jack says:

    that is soooooooooooooooooo cute

  5. JACK LUNKHIRE says:

    DDDDDDDDDDDDDUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Monti mc faden says:

    i loved so much at da comments u had at da bottom of each photo hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

  7. Irina says:

    I tell you, there is much to discover abut this breed. I had one of these dogs when I was a little girl living in Moscow, Russia. It was a female and her character was very calm, but underneath you could find aggressive and owner-possessive, protective, jealous dog. Overall she was friendly with everyone, adults or kids. I remember walking her on the street in the evenings and trust me – no one would approach me. I would not recommend owning this breed in a small household and hot climate.

  8. Bridget Henry says:

    Baby look at these pictures.

  9. John says:

    this breed originally comes from Georgian Mountains where Mountain Georgian people reside, this dog if you call it that by far is most aggressive, strong and mentally tough dog ever, they do not take crap from anyone period, too warm and loyal to master, yet too aggressive and terrifying to strangers, only listens to master Nobody else.

    from what i Have heard it can kill 2 wolves with ease because it has very big and thick fur, this dog is one of a kind I have one and every time She comes outside people look at her like WOW WHAT IS THAT.

  10. Kimberly says:

    Beautiful babys!

    I miss mine so badly!! I keep hoping another one will cross my path..

    I had my Oliver for 13yrs – he was great with my students and obtained his “TDI” and “CG” certs and I was always so proud of him with the special students..

    If any one has a lead on one in the North East I would love a holler!!

    Warm Regards

  11. Eric says:

    I’d love to have one, but they can be ferocious with strangers. They are extremely “alfa”, as the post explains, and it is absolutely necessary to keep them in check. They will defend your young children to the death, but they will NOT obey or respect them. Your kids will be considered the dog’s “possessions”, and that’s not a good thing. They must be carefully and thoroughly socialized as pups or they become genuinely dangerous as adults. And the legal liability is no small issue, either.

  12. Kavkaz says:

    those dogs are not only the georgian dogs but they are also from other cuacasian countries like Azerbaijan, Dagestan, Chechnya..

  13. rubili says:

    A Caucasian Shepherd just moved into a house a couple down from my parents in the a Bronx. It is one of the sweetest most affectionate dogs I have ever meet! It comes to the gate to meet me an licks my hand. I scrach him on the head a little and he rolls over like clockwork for his belly rubs. I take my dog to see him and they kiss through the gate and he moans from sadness when we leave. He is definitely a gentle giant, not some vicious dog, unless I’m sure if he is provoked.

  14. Corpsman 45 says:

    I just heard a really touching story from one of our Marines. Basically he found one as a pup while deployed in the middle east. It was injured, and tangled in some briars, and he cut it out, patched him up, and nursed him back to health, then had to hide him for 3 months from an overzelous individual that wanted to euthanize him, for fear of rabies (it’s really common out there, and dogs are treated like rats, common pests). He got him his shots, got clearance, and eventually was able to bring him home. Now Diablo (Devil Dog) is a regular at the unit, and much loved by his new familly.

  15. James says:

    I did see myself those dogs in Georgia in 2009, while I was visiting this amazing country, which still remains undiscovered by westerns. Those dogs are amazingly strong, and extremely aggressive. They fight wolves, and even bear in high mountain areas. I am glad to see a growing population of
    Georgian Mountain Dog here, in US. This dog is a perfect guard for any property – no needs for any other security gadget, however would not recommend having them in a small household. They are perfect for farm type property, or you have to have a good size backyard at least.

  16. Lots of Good information in your blogpost, I bookmarked your blog so I can visit again in the future, Thanks

  17. John says:

    I would love to own one. its will be great anf full of fun all the way. Is there anyone who can part with a caucasian male puppy?

  18. John says:

    I would love to own one. its will be great anf full of fun all the way. Is there anyone who can part with a caucasian male puppy?

    osuntokunfemi@yahoo.com

  19. GIORGI says:

    Hello ,thanks for such nice comments for Georgian Sheppard and for Georgia itself, I just head chance to meet my aunt at JFK ,she bought one puppy, two months old and she’s huge(17 pounds).that dog will protect about 150 -250 sheep easy. My grand pas head them in Georgian mountains. It needs Somme special trainings if not in mountain. They are smart but very aggressive creatures also loyal for only one patron.
    P.S. my aunts puppy made pie in my car and pu in my apartment but she was so cute …you know what I mean…):
    Email me if anyone interesting about these dogs. http://www.geokva@yahoo.com

  20. Karina says:

    I’m sorry but I don’t agree with you. I have a Caucasian Shepherd myself and I must say they are very friendly dogs with great behaviour. They are loyal and protective and very loving with children! However, they don’t tolerate strangers on their property and they are always ready to fight in order to protect their owner.

  21. DAVID ROBERTS says:

    PLEASE TELL HOW A PERSON CAN OBTAIN THIS GREAT DOG I HAVE A FARM SURROUNDED BY A FENCE WITH A HOTWIRE AT THE TOP AND 5 GREAT PYRENEESE DOGS AND WAS JUST LQQKING 4 SOMETHING BIGGER I NEVER NEW THEY EVEN WERE SUCH A DOG LIKE THIS OUT THERE

  22. Justin says:

    This is probably the most bad ass of all dogs. But like the blogs say this is a alpha dog. I have been training the so called aggresive breeds most of my life. Raised with rotts, pits, dobermans, and shepards I can honestly say that if this dog does not respect you, you will go nowhere but down with this magnificent animal. It does bother me though that so many people here want one because of the cute factor as puppies. This is my advise to any one who wants it. If you can take 5 pits, or 5 of any (aggresive breed) dominate dog and socialize them with out one altercation and you are in complete control. Than you can handle this dog. Remember that 99% of the time the dogs issues are your fault. So due the right thing and get a dog that fits you and not the cute puppy factor. We as humans put the traits into these animals and raised right I can assure you that this breed will by far surpass your expectations as a great dog. But just like any independent breed keep one eye on it at all times.

    • I am a 68 yr. old Grandma, and have 5 Blue Pitbulls, and they are my babies,. The largest being a male of 122 lbs, that sits in my lap. I would love to have a Caucasian Mountain Dog, but my Bullies have my heart. Maybe in my next life. Also, I live in Hawaii, and I fear our weather may be too warm for them. Oh well, I’ll stick with my Bullies.

  23. mary says:

    Just met a wonderful full grown C. Shepard, Gigi, at a cafe in Trieste. Great temperament loved everyone and adored pets but his owner did say he was very protective of his property. However out of his territory he was docile..Hmmmm…Pretty damn big though…

  24. mari says:

    i love dogs and i have 3 Caucasian Mountain Dogs so if anyone has questions add me on skype vamp.girl21

  25. arthur says:

    I have 3 CAUCASIAN SHEPHERDS for sale.Info: info@kapas.lt or ox@inbox.lt .Real CAUCASIAN SHEPHERD DOGS”!!!

  26. sonia says:

    pls can somebody tell me….am expecting a baby soon,and my hubby got one which is about 3months now….i hope the dog won’t be hostile to my babies in future?…..immediate response will be appreciated.

  27. Tsotne says:

    Sonya, I wonder why noone has responded to your question so far, I’m georgian, I live in Tbilisi, I have 3 of these dogs, and two kids, 12 year old and 3 years old, they are no threat for your children, BUT! you have to remember that each dog has different character, they are INDIVIDUALS, it only happened once that I didnt pay attantion to one of my female dogs, and she showed sign of aggression towards my daughter when I kissed my daughter, they can get jealous if you dont give then enough attention. And they will protect your kids to the death, TRUST me on that.

  28. Jean Tessier says:

    Hey, it’s Mouse from the Dresden books. ^_^

  29. Solomon kangmi says:

    Oooooh myyyyyy gosh! What the **** is that? Pls how much does this cost? I can pay a million s**t.

  30. Monmei says:

    I have a caucasian shepherd puppy :D I love him very much <3

  31. madz says:

    its so biiiggg…. it’s not a dog its a monster……

  32. ashlyn says:

    these are some ugly dogs ever it will only take two steps from Indiana to Pennsylvania.haha lolo

  33. Vitaly says:

    They are very spread all over USSR. It is our very serious native breed, get one – you won’t regret, it’s very good protector.

  34. mymy says:

    madz, your probably a monster!!!! this dog is the best and great loving!

  35. Yes, I do believe I have found my next most loved member of my family!!! Sweetest faces ever!!!

  36. stopping your dog…

    WHAT THE–!?: Dog Edition « Boone’s Journal…

  37. George Breckly says:

    how can i get one? and how much is the cost

  38. paul says:

    I love all animals, dogs I have a special intrest with. Since I was a child there has always been a dog in the home. I own a German Sheperd, this is my third GS. She is the perfect companion, I can trust her with anyone. I think all dogs are capable of aggrestion but it’s owners who can be irresponsible. I would love a Caucasian Mountain Shepard but I’ve read they not allowed in the United Kingdom.

  39. Joe says:

    Holy jaysus thats a beautiful animal that at the same time could rip your head off I really want one !!!

  40. Caucasian says:

    Actually, the term Caucasian which defines the white race have origins from Caucasus. It was German anthropologist Johann Friedrich Blumenbach, who said “Caucasian variety – I have taken the name of this variety from
    Mount Caucasus, both because its neighborhood, and especially
    its southern slope, produces the most beautiful race of men, I
    mean the Georgian; and because all physiological reasons
    converge to this, that in that region, if anywhere, it seems we
    ought with the greatest probability to place the autochthones
    (birth place) of mankind”

    Just so you know it.

  41. Marla says:

    Both, my father and my father-in-law have this breed to protect the property. They are the BEST at their job. I would not keep them as pets though.

  42. how to take care of a puppy…

    [...]WHAT THE–!?: Dog Edition « Boone’s Journal[...]…

  43. [...] dystopium.wordpress.com via Felissa on [...]

  44. olga says:

    I agree with many things outlined here but disagree with some. I was a kid when i found this cute homeless puppy and took it home, family loved him straight away as well but within few months he grew into a beast and we couldn’t keep him at our flat and so he found his home at my grandmother place as she lived in village with large garden around house. They are LOVELY dogs, very smart, very affectionate to all members of family but yes, they will obey only one master.
    Please, please, please do not take these dogs as pets. They need space, they need to run, they exist for purpose and by their nature they never will be happy to live in small space. And although my grandma had over a hectare of land its wasnt sufficient enough for our dog, he used to run away now and then to fields and run full night around (and every time he would figure out new way of running away! they are smart, very determinate ) but its not something that villagers could cope with as for any outsider just seeing such beast running around quiet petrifying.
    To keep such dog you should be able to provide to his needs! and he needs space, workout, being useful otherwise they just get depressed. They are Shepherd dogs…
    And about being aggressive … well i think there is more to it. Yes, they will fight to death to protect any one from family, but otherwise they are big show-offs. Our use to hide and then try to chase and knock down to ground visitors, would bark loudly and try to scare them, but once his prey on the ground and he is above it he would start to lick face and wiggle tail like saying “look at me, int i am best?” but never ever physically hurt anyone! he just need to feel he is in control of his territory. Of course i can only imagine how those people who became his such prey were feeling.
    He never ever showed any sign of aggression towards me or my siblings and cousins, but would often knock us down and play with us, we even use to attach to him small sleigh and he would ride on snow FEW of us a time and he would run so fast so furiously just to please us

  45. Tall Dog Gate…

    [...]WHAT THE–!?: Dog Edition « Boone’s Journal[...]…

  46. Darlene koz says:

    This is a beautiful- wow and i think our akita is a handful, what i want to know— how much does it cost to feed this beautiful monster?

  47. efe emmanuel says:

    I need one o f the dog please

  48. gary says:

    Will 1 fit in a short bed pickup ?

  49. nicholsa tarby says:

    where how can u get one of these dogs i live in Elmira NY my e mail is ntarbysr@stny.rr.com n about how much do they cost

  50. Ratti says:

    1). The Georgian Shepherd dog is Aboriginal to Georgian mountainside only. Soviets decided to take them and breed them all around caucasus. But the Caucasian Shepherd is smaller and weaker than the original Georgian Shepherd or Nagazi as we call them.
    2). Georgia is not Russia.
    3). And Yes, I had one, but I when he grew up, I had to send him to the mountains, because my yard was not enough for him. Turns out he does well there.

  51. rodenttime says:

    Luv da site!

  52. Reblogged this on Dew of the Desert and commented:
    This.Is.Awesome! I wonder if Oliver would like and/or survive having a giant for a brother. Also, we would never need to worry about fancy security systems. But, we would need to get like a sturdy fence and/or train this monster that it is NOT ok to jump/walk over the fence.
    It says here they are about the size of a sheep. I wonder if you can harvest their fur in the same way. I could have a Caucasian dog coat, the ultimate in cold-weather chic!
    It would also meet one of the requirements for Zombie Apocalypse preparedness. :-)

  53. Pundalik says:

    can i get this breed in india… climate is pretty hot and humid here /?????

  54. Reblogged this on helpinghandsofhassan's Blog and commented:
    Buahahahah

  55. naomi says:

    How can I get a puppy of this

  56. Robert Favors says:

    Omg,wow. I’m in love. That is such a beautiful animal. What size yard u need for him? Is they good with small children? How long do that type of breed live to be? I must have two girls.

  57. Robert Favors says:

    What do u feed him? How much a month on food? Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha .

  58. Pet Supplies says:

    Its like you learn my mind! You appear to know a lot approximately this, like you wrote the e book in it or something.

    I feel that you just could do with some % to power the message house a bit, however instead of that, this is wonderful blog. A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

