It’s been awhile kids!

Well, I’ve been gone awhile, and a lot has happened since my last post. Halloween had come and gone and Thanksgiving is nearly here. I had read that graphic novel about the Joker I was talking about.* I’ve made a ton more of my Inappropriate Soundtracks, and I have been picked up by a British movie blogging site to provide more HILARIOUS videos. I’ve continued writing my own online comic that has yet to come to fruition, but I am inching ever closer. I’ve rekindled friendships from days past, and my long-lasting, long-distance relationship with a girl I’m just crazy about will soon no longer be long-distance, as she comes back here in about a month.
For the first time in a long while, I can honestly say that I am feeling truly happy and fulfilled.

Oh, and also the first ever African-American president was elected… which is kind of a big deal.

Unfortunately, that’s all you’re getting out of me at the moment. I honestly don’t have much to report. I just thought I’d stop by and give everyone an update. But I leave you with a fun little question to think about…

BOONE’S TRICK QUESTION OF THE DAY!
What color was the sky in Ancient Greece?

I shall divulge the answer after I have heard either the right answer or enough wrong ones to force me to blab. Before you answer, keep in mind that this is a trick question.

================

*It’s scary as all hell. I can honestly say that it is the most gruesome, terrifying portrayal of the Joker ever. Ever. A word of caution for those with delicate sensibilities; it’s very violent and very graphic. You’ve been warned.

7 Responses to It’s been awhile kids!

  1. Boone says:

    No… but close. Honestly though, you deserve points for being so blatant about not trying.

  2. msp says:

    azure

    robin’s egg

    ceruelean or is it cereulean…

    argh

    msp

  3. Boone says:

    Nope. Any other guesses before I reveal the answer?

  4. Darby says:

    Ancient Greece had no sky! Ha!

    Actually, a cheated look on the internets reveals that the female-oppressing Greeks of old (you know the ones I mean) did not have a word for the color blue. So one might also ask, what color was the ocean, what color were the eyes of those who were so pale their eye irises lacked common pigments?

    The internets further suggests Greeks seemed to describe appearances based more on brightness rather than color. And the use of color names seems…odd, at best. The poet Homer (you know the one I mean) talked about the sky being bronze, but he meant in terms of it being bright and shining. But he also said all sheep were the same color – a sort of purple/red.

    Purple/red sheep? Were these people ‘tarded? The internets throws out the theory that maybe Greeks hadn’t evolved to see color, to which I say, bull pucky. Even dogs see some color. And it seems to me there were civilizations on earth at the same time that had a very evolved perception of color.

    Perhaps all of ancient Greece had some sort of genetic mutation holding them back? Seems to me it’s more likely that they were just culturally weird, and didn’t think in terms of color. And maybe Homer was color blind (seriously, purple/red sheep?).

    Oh, hey, could it be that people are mistranslating these Greek words for color? Or mistranslating other elements of the ancient texts…or were they mistranslated in the past? So much of ancient writing was lost when bi-curious Alexander the Great (you know the one I mean) destroyed libraries and sacked cities.

    So I guess the answer is blue, but you wouldn’t know it to ask the Greeks. They would have said bright or dark (depending on the weather), or maybe bronze. But they also would have said sheep are all the same shade of purple/red, so I’m not sure we can trust them.

  5. Darby says:

    Also, blood was described as being green, because green was thought to be vibrant and alive.

  6. Boone says:

    Why Darby, that is absolutely correct. The Ancient Greeks (pre-Homer) didn’t use colors for descriptions, but merely described intensity. In particular, they had absolutely no word for the color blue. So, if you were in Ancient Greece, you probably wouldn’t describe the sky, or anything else, by mere color at all.

    …However, you looked it up before answering and cheated. So no points awarded. HA! Then again, you admitted to cheating, so I guess you still win, but not honestly. I hope you’re happy living the rest of your life in shame. SHAME, I SAY!

Leave a Reply

