It’s Official: I Hate Me

im-an-asshole

A friend of mine recently pointed me to an internet personality test. It’s that Jung Myers-Briggs like Indicator Test; you all know the one. The one where they break down your personality through a letter system to state whether you are more Extroverted or Introverted, Judging or Perceiving, etc.

I did the test and the results were… somewhat pleasant. A tad surprising, but for the most part, it appeared to cast me in a decent light. Then again, they wouldn’t just outright say, “You’re an asshole.”

…Would they?

As I read the description, it stated that people with my personality type are “responsible”, “decisive” and “hard working.”
That’s… not entirely true about me, but I’ll buy it. Besides, it sounds… harmless. It’s a tad more square than I’d describe myself, but nothing damning.

Then it started saying things like, “…they honor traditions”, “[respect] authority”, “norm followers” and “stiff”.
Umm… those aren’t really characteristics that I view to be all that positive. But still, I read on. I wanted to see what it had to say about me.

Oh, look! A list of famous people with my personality type! This should be interesting. I always like comparing myself to those of prominence. Let’s see who they have here:
Bettie Davis (Hmph.)
Lyndon Johnson (Ugh.)
William Henry Harrison (Um… I don’t like where this is going.)
George W. Bush (Shit.)
Reverend Billy Graham (Oh, c’mon! You’ve got to be kidding!)
Carrie Nation (Jesus Butt-fucking Christ.)

Now I kind of wish the test would’ve just said, “You’re an asshole,” and had been done with it.
It felt like the personality test makers had jumped into my head, found people that I personally believe have contributed to ruining the world and said, “Hey, these people you hate? THEY’RE YOU!”

Then again, I’ve always been a self-loathing person. It’s almost comforting to know that it’s justified. Almost.

If you would like to see my results for yourself, click [here].
If you want to have your day ruined, take the test by clicking [here].

5 Responses to It’s Official: I Hate Me

  1. vein says:

    I think I’ll pass. If it helps the test was just made up by Jung and a few equally quirky colleagues, not scientifically developed. So it means about as much as your morning horroscope.

    If it makes you feel better you are an asshole though. 😉 This result brought to you by the Veinglory-Makes-It-Up test. (TM)

  2. Darby says:

    That shit doesn’t sound anything like you. Either the test is screwy, or you weren’t answering honestly. And that self-loathing thing…seriously, you should see someone about getting that removed.

    You should try some online IQ tests instead of this personality shite. IQ tests can be kind of fun, and ego-boosting. “Ha! Look how many people are stupider than me! Pfft. Stupids.”

    P.S. I’m trying this personality test of yours (and I’ve done Meyers-Briggs before, but was practically the opposite personality of what you got, according to the site I found), and will report back accordingly.

  3. Darby says:

    Okay, I’m not doing that because it requires you to get an account. Screw that.

    Also, who the hell is Carrie Nation? This is a “famous” person they cite?

    Also, also, Carl Jung may have had interesting ideas, but a scientist he was not. At all. Test stinks. Do one that’s pure Meyers-Briggs, with no Jung thrown in.

  4. Msp says:

    Hmm!

    What frame of mind were you in when you took that test? On any given day the results of that particular test (if taken quickly and without a great amount of thought) will simply reflect the YOU of that particular day.

    I took that test after a major blow-up with a roommate having to do with boundries, rights and civilities. Hence they nearly committed me as a serial killer on the basis of that test taken one hour after the blow-up.

    What the test might be saying is you are strong-willed, have a strong sense of right and wrong, correct and incorrect,

    As far as the celebrities: Bette Davis was an original until her death. LBJ for all his pitfalls, was the major implementer of the civil rights movement, and a foreward thinker responsible for the space program, WHHarrison- I have no idea, lol, George W.Bush (if you can’t say anything nice, blah, blah, blah,) Reverend Billy Graham on the upside has a strong sense of right and wrong, and also was a major power in negotiations for the middle east peace accords, Carrie Nation, well demon drink, who can argue with that.)

    I wouldn’t totally poo-poo the entire results, but take it again under different circumstances.

    Msp, grins…

Leave a Reply

